University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Our Faculty

Combining professional experience, scholarship, and research, our faculty develop innovative programs and approaches, provide critical insight into the profession, and develop teaching materials that are used widely in social work education. UConn Social Work faculty serve as presenters at national and international conferences. They are widely published; hold leadership positions in journal publications; and serve as committee members on regional and national peer review committees for granting agencies, journal publishers, and University, national and international meetings. Involved in a wide range of service activities in professional social work organizations and in the community at both the local and national levels, they hold leadership positions as officers and board members of professional organizations; and engage in the development and dissemination of research.

  1. S. Megan Berthold, PhDS. MeganBerthold, PhDAssistant Professor
    Director of Field Education
    (959) 200-3656megan.berthold@uconn.edu
  2. Edna Comer, PhDEdnaComer, PhDAssociate Dean for Academic Affairs
    Associate Professor
    (959) 200-3649edna.comer@uconn.edu
  3. Antonia Cordero, DSWAntoniaCordero, DSWAssociate Professor(959) 200-3677antonia.cordero@uconn.edu
  4. Diane Drachman, PhDDianeDrachman, PhDAssociate Professor(959) 200-3640diane.drachman@uconn.edu
  5. Caitlin Elsaesser, PhDCaitlinElsaesser, PhDAssistant Professor(959) 200-3671caitlin.elsaesser@uconn.edu
  6. Megan Feely, PhDMeganFeely, PhDAssistant Professor(959) 200-3625megan.feely@uconn.edu
  7. Michael Fendrich, PhDMichaelFendrich, PhDAssociate Dean for Research
    Professor
    (959) 200-3612michael.fendrich@uconn.edu
  8. Robert Fisher, PhDRobertFisher, PhDProfessor(959) 200-3623robert.fisher@uconn.edu
  9. Ann Marie Garran, PhDAnn MarieGarran, PhDMSW Program Director
    Associate Professor
    (959) 200-3651annmarie.garran@uconn.edu
  10. Alex Gitterman, EdDAlexGitterman, EdDProfessor(959) 200-3655alex.gitterman@uconn.edu
  11. Scott Harding, PhDScottHarding, PhDCo-Director, PhD Program
    Associate Professor
    (959) 200-3628scott.harding@uconn.edu
  12. Nina Rovinelli Heller, PhDNina RovinelliHeller, PhDDean and Zachs Professor(959) 200-3649nina.heller@uconn.edu
  13. Stephanie Kennedy, PhDStephanieKennedy, PhDAssistant Professor(959) 200-3624stephanie.kennedy@uconn.edu
  14. Brenda Kurz, PhDBrendaKurz, PhDAssociate Professor (959) 200-3635brenda.kurz@uconn.edu
  15. Kathryn Libal, PhDKathrynLibal, PhDAssociate Professor
    Director, UConn Human Rights Institute
    (959) 200-3633kathryn.libal@uconn.edu
  16. Hsiu-Ju Lin, PhDHsiu-JuLin, PhDAssociate Research Professor(860) 418-6662hsiu-ju.lin@uconn.edu
  17. Margaret Lloyd, PhDMargaretLloyd, PhDAssistant Professor(959) 200-3653margaret.lloyd@uconn.edu
  18. Barris Malcolm, PhDBarrisMalcolm, PhDAssociate Professor(959) 200-3630barris.malcolm@uconn.edu
  19. Catherine Medina, PhDCatherineMedina, PhDAssociate Professor(959) 200-3672catherine.medina@uconn.edu
  20. Nathanael Okpych, PhDNathanaelOkpych, PhDAssistant Professor(959) 200-3622nathanael.okpych@uconn.edu
  21. Peter Papallo, LCSW, MSPeterPapallo, LCSW, MSAssistant Extension Professor(959) 200-3675peter.papallo@uconn.edu
  22. Louise Simmons, PhDLouiseSimmons, PhDProfessor(959) 200-3641louise.simmons@uconn.edu
  23. Tanya Rhodes SmithTanya RhodesSmithVisiting Lecturer
    Director, Nancy A. Humphreys Institute for Political Social Work
    (959) 200-3631tanya.smith@uconn.edu
  24. Ellen Smith, PhDEllenSmith, PhDAssociate Extension Professor(959) 200-3634ellen.smith@uconn.edu
  25. Rebecca Thomas, PhDRebeccaThomas, PhDAssociate Professor
    Director, Center for International Social Work Studies
    (959) 200-3681rlthomas@uconn.edu
  26. Wendy Ulaszek, PhDWendyUlaszek, PhDAssociate Research Professor(860) 418-6762wendy.ulaszek@uconn.edu
  27. Miriam Valdovinos, PhDMiriamValdovinos, PhDAssistant Professor(959) 200-3680miriam.valdovinos@uconn.edu
  28. Lisa Werkmeister Rozas, PhDLisaWerkmeister Rozas, PhDAssociate Professor
    Director, Puerto Rican and Latin@ Studies Project
    (959) 200-3654lisa.werkmeister_rozas@uconn.edu
  29. Cristina Wilson, PhDCristinaWilson, PhDAssociate Professor(959) 200-3674cristina.wilson@uconn.edu