Month: October 2010

Finalists Announced for the Provost’s Awards for Excellence in Public Engagement

The 2010 finalists for the UConn Provost’s Awards for Excellence in Public Engagement were announced on Friday, October 22nd. The School of Social Work is doubly proud to have finalists in the Program and Staff categories.

The Nancy A. Humphreys Institute for Political Social Work Practice (NAHIPSW) is one of the finalists in the Program category for its contributions to public engagement through political advocacy, training, organizing, and community engagement focused on efforts to create positive change for low income and other disenfranchised groups and overcoming structural inequalities. Click to read more about the Nancy A. Humphreys Institute for Political Social Work Practice.

Reesa Olins, Director of Outreach, Continuing Education and Alumni Relations, is a finalist in the Staff category for her work as the Principal Investigator of a post-master’s certificate program on Clinical Issues in Adoption. The program is a collaboration between the UConn School of Social Work, Southern Connecticut State University, the Connecticut Department of Children & Families, and Casey Family Services. Now in its fifth year, the certificate program has provided, and continues to provide, advanced level training to over 110 human service professional. Click to read more about the Adoption Certificate Program.

The selection committee evaluated the nominations on the degree to which the nominees met the following criteria in performing public engagement activities:


  • Sustained leadership in working with the public and/or with external organizations.
  • Innovative ways of working for the well being of citizens and communities.
  • Documented excellence in extending University knowledge.
  • Evidence of the impact on a target audience.
  • Demonstrated intellectual, professional, and/or career growth as a result of the experience.
  • Evidence of impact on scholarship/research, instruction and curriculum development, or evidence of national significance in the field.

All finalists will be honored at a reception on Monday, November 29th. The winner in each category will be announced at the award ceremony and will receive a $500.00 award.

Dr. Robert Fisher Co-Authors New Book with James DeFilippis and Eric Shragge

Dr. Robert Fisher has co-authored a new book with colleagues, James DeFilippis and Eric Shragge, entitled Contesting Community The Limits and Potential of Local Organizing (Rutgers University Press, June 2010). The book examines the proliferation of community-based efforts in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada, emphasizing the limits and potential of contemporary efforts. The authors wrote the book because “we had witnessed the marginalization of the longer term goals of economic and social justice as part of the agenda of community organizing. In its place, we see a narrower focus on much more limited practice…We thought a book that broadly examines the direction of community practice would answer the question of why this has happened and what other possibilities exist.” According to a recent review by Frances Fox Piven she states, “This book could not be more timely…A major contribution to the ongoing debates about community and social movement organizing.”

Dr. Lynne Healy to Receive the Outstanding Community Service Award

Dr. Lynne Healy is the recipient of the Outstanding Community Service Award from The West Indian Foundation, Inc.  Healy will be honored on November 6th at the organization’s 32nd Annual Anniversary & Scholarship Gala for her significant contributions to the linkage program between the UConn School of Social Work and the University of the West Indies Social Work Program.

Lynne M. Healy, PhD

Catherine Havens honored as a Mentor for Women in Social Work Education

Catherine Havens was honored as a Mentor for women in social work education at the Council on Social Work Education’s (CSWE) Annual Program Meeting. Dr. Robin Spath, a member of the CSWE Council on the Role and Status of Women in Social Work Education, chose Associate Dean Havens to honor at the Women’s Council Networking Breakfast on October 16th in Portland, Oregon.

Catherine M. Havens, JD, MSW, Director of the MSW Program and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

The Mentor Recognition Program was created to honor those mentors who have increased the visibility of women in social work education and made a difference in their lives.

Provost Nicholls Announces Appointment of Dr. Salome Raheim to the Provost’s Commission on Institutional Diversity

Provost Peter Nicholls announced that Dr. Salome Raheim, Dean of the School of Social Work, and Dr. Jeremy Teitelbaum, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, have been appointed for a three-year term to lead the Provost’s Commission on Institutional Diversity. This Commission will be charged to address critical issues surrounding inclusion, diversity, equity, and access at the University.

Salome Raheim, PhD, ACSW, Dean of the School of Social Work

In order to maintain continuity of the University’s efforts in these areas, a meeting of former stakeholders as well as other recommended key stakeholders will take place soon. Provost Nicholls will be gathering input regarding the direction of this Commission in an effort to advance the goals outlined in the Academic Plan.

Future announcements about the organization and the work of this Commission will be forthcoming.