Dr. Lynne Healy Receives UConn BOT’s Distinguished Professor Award

Dr. Lynne Healy was named one of the University of Connecticut Board of Trustees Distinguished Professors during the board’s April 25 meeting.

Healy is an internationally known scholar in the field of international social work and a nationally recognized leader, scholar, and educator in the profession of social work. She was a visiting professor at the University of the West Indies in Jamaica in 1994 and 1995; a visiting lecturer/consultant at the University of Mauritius; and has lectured at universities and conferences in 24 countries.

Dr. Lynne Healy (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

She is a prolific author with an exemplary national and international reputation for scholarship in the areas of internationalizing social work curriculum, international social work, human rights, human service agency management, and ethics. She has published 11 books and more than 50 articles and book chapters. Her writings on international social work have contributed significantly to defining and advancing the field of international social work and are widely cited. Several of her books have been translated into other languages.

She currently chairs the Administration Concentration and the International Issues Substantive Area at the School of Social Work, and co-directs the Center for International Social Work Studies. She teaches graduate courses in Supervision and Leadership; International Social Work; and International Development, Human Rights, and Social Policy; and advises master’s degree students.

She served on the Board of Directors of the Council on Social Work Education and as chair of the Council’s International Commission; held office as secretary and as vice president of the International Association of Schools of Social Work (IASSW); was on two federal review panels; and was chair of the Social Work Discipline Committee for the Fulbright program. She currently represents the IASSW at the United Nations and serves on editorial boards of five journals.

She was previously honored by the Council on Social Work Education with the Individual Award for Advancing Education for International Social Work (2004); by the Connecticut Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers as Social Worker of the Year (1987); and with an Outstanding Community Service Award from the West Indian Foundation (2010).

Article Courtesy of UConn Today
Written By: Michael Kirk