2013 – 2014 Scholarship Award Recipients

Each year the School of Social Work holds a Scholarship Awards Ceremony. It is a wonderful opportunity to bring together students, alumni and donors to recognize the outstanding academic achievements and professional contributions of our MSW, PhD and Non-Degree students. A highlight of the event is the special remarks by a donor, their family or a past scholarship recipient.

The 15th Annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony and Luncheon was held on April 8, 2014.  Celaura Estrada MSW ’09, recipient of the 2007 Raymond and Mary Borecki Buck Scholarship, gave the remarks.


MSW Scholarships

Dr. Albert Alissi Scholarship
Wilson Dias
Mary Fran & Peter Libassi Scholarship
Kayla Lathrop
Nancy Tarr Berdon Scholarship
Agnes Kamara and Nakia Miller
Libassi/Wheeler Scholarship
Jill Giguere
Raymond and Mary Borecki Buck Scholarship
Valerie Licata
RuthAnn Lobo Social Work Scholarship
Karonesa Logan and Cynthia Nichols
Frank V. Carollo Scholarship
Kevin Chiang, Alberto Cifuentes, Jr.,
Jennifer Oliver, Melissa Ruot
Vivian Michelson Scholarship
Robert Haswell
Mary Deane-Scalora Fund
Hannah Croasmun and Nicole Seymour
Donna Millette-Fridge Scholarship
Daniel Fortunato
Dana DeBiasi Scholarship
Melissa Thompson
Dr. Julio Morales Jr. Fellowship Fund
Robert Girard
Shirley and Howard Dickstein Scholarship
Danielle Nardone and Candace Williams
Murry Shapiro Scholarship
Rebecca Parkhurst
Dr. Ivor Echols Scholarship
Kimona Spencer
Miriam June Silverman Scholarship
Krystal Rich
Charlotte Kinlock Scholarship
Matthew Morris


Ph.D. Scholarships

Kay W. Davidson Doctoral Scholarship
Jennifer Willett
M. Elizabeth Sterling Scholarship
Angela Bellas, Karen D’Angelo, Michele Eggers
Jack Lu, Jason Ostander, Michael Reeves
Debra and Bruce Fischman Scholarship
Hiroki Toi
Graduate Ph.D. Assistanships
Anglea Bellas, Janelle Bryan, Jesse Capece,
Jason Ostrander, Reinaldo Rojas, Hiroki Toi
Vicki and Michael Konover Fellowship Fund
Walter Belsito, Janelle Bryan, Jesse Capece,
Mollie Charter, Denise Keane, Paula Nieman,
Adelaide Sandler
Graduate Ph.D Dissertation Scholarships
Michele Eggers, Christina Chiarelli-Helminiak,
Dwight Norwood, Loida Reyes, Hiroki Toi,
Jennifer Willett
T. Roderick Silcott Fund
Elizabeth Allen
Konover Travel Scholarships
Christina Chiarelli-Helminiak and Hiroki Toi

For more information about our scholarships, visit www.ssw.uconn.edu > Giving.

If you wish to establish a scholarship fund or donate to an existing fund, please contact Kristen Willis at kwillis@foundation.uconn.edu.

The UConn School of Social Work gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the outstanding people who make it possible to award these scholarships annually.