2014-2015 Scholarship Award Recipients

Each year the School of Social Work holds a Scholarship Awards Ceremony. It is a wonderful opportunity to bring together students and donors to recognize the outstanding academic achievements and professional contributions of our MSW, Ph.D. and Non-Degree students. A highlight of the event is the special remarks by a donor, their family or a past scholarship recipient.

The 16th annual scholarship event was held on April 21, 2015.  Naomi Bocarsly MSW ’13, recipient of the 2013 Dana DeBiasi Scholarship gave the remarks.


MSW Scholarships

Dr. Albert Alissi Scholarship
Elsa Reyes

Nancy Tarr Berdon Scholarship
Renee Hamel
Sandra Smith

Raymond and Mary Borecki Buck Scholarship
Amina Hosaini

Frank V. Carollo Scholarship
Lauren Forcellina
Jasmin Haynes
Landon Osborn
Christopher Pressley
William Rosedale

Mary Deane-Scalora Endowment Fund
Lauren Gray
Takaya Owens

Dana DeBiasi Scholarship
Shannon Perkins

Shirley and Howard Dickstein Scholarship
Danielle Nardone
Aswad Thomas

Dr. Ivor J. Echols Scholarship
Brandon Burke

Charlotte M. Kinlock Scholarship
Tiffanie McGowan

Mary Fran and Peter Libassi Scholarship
Erich Freywald

RuthAnn Lobo Social Work Scholarship
Katherine Bradway
Joan Carlson

Donna Millette-Fridge Scholarship
Christopher Dellaripa

Dr. Julio Morales Jr. Fellowship Endowment Fund
Monica Gould-Porras

Murry Shapiro Scholarship
Temple Wrinn

Miriam June Silverman Scholarship
Sandy Lomonico

Ph.D. Scholarships

Kay W. Davidson Doctoral Scholarship Fund
Elizabeth Allen

Debra and Bruce Fischman Endowed Scholarship Fund
Angela Bellas

Vicki and Michael Konover Graduate Fellowship in Social Work
Jesse Capece
Denise Keane
John Lachak
Jason Ostrander
Adelaide Sandler
Hiroki Toi
Jennifer Willett
Teresa Works

T. Roderick Silcott Endowed Fund
Michele Eggers

M. Elizabeth Sterling Scholarship
Walter Belsito
Janelle Bryan
Mollie Charter
Karen D’Angelo
Maureen Dimock
Jack Lu
Paula Nieman
Michael Reeves

Judy Zachs Fellowship in Social Work
Angela Bellas
Jesse Capece

Graduate Ph.D. Assistantships
Angela Bellas
Janelle Bryan
Jesse Capece
Maureen Dimock
Jason Ostrander

Konover Dissertation Scholarship
Karen Brown

Konover Travel Scholarship
Janelle Bryan

Dissertation Writing Fellowship
Michele Eggers

Dissertation Research Fellowship
Karen D’Angelo

If you are interested in contributing to an existing fund, establishing a new scholarship fund, for planned giving, or matching gift programs, please contact Lauren Prause at lprause@foundation.uconn.edu or 860.486.1949.

The UConn School of Social Work gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the outstanding people who make it possible to award these scholarships annually.