Our Faculty and Staff

Combining professional experience, scholarship, and research, our faculty develop innovative programs and approaches, provide critical insight into the profession, and develop teaching materials that are used widely in social work education. UConn Social Work faculty serve as presenters at national and international conferences. They are widely published; hold leadership positions, serve on editorial boards and as committee members on regional and national peer review committees for granting agencies, journal publishers, and University, national and international meetings. Involved in a wide range of service activities in professional social work organizations and in the community at both the local and national levels, our faculty hold leadership positions as officers and board members of professional organizations; and engage in the development and dissemination of research.

In addition to our full-time faculty, adjuncts are hired to teach on a limited basis. They are selected for their expertise, teaching experience, and ability to use practice experience to inform their teaching.

The UConn School of Social Work staff is dedicated to supporting you and the work of the School.

Faculty

Megan Berthold

S. Megan Berthold, PhD

Associate Professor

megan.berthold@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3656

Room 318 HSSW

Kimberly Campbell MSW

Kimberly Campbell, MSW

Assistant Extension Professor

kimberly.a.campbell@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3632

Room 315 HSSW

Headshot of Assistant Research Professor Patricia Carlson

Patricia Carlson, PhD

ASSISTANT RESEARCH PROFESSOR

patricia.carlson@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3637

Room 216 HSSW

Kelsi Carolan

Kelsi Carolan, PhD

Assistant Professor

kelsi.carolan@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3680

Room 224 HSSW

Joanne Corbin

Joanne Corbin, PhD

Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

joanne.corbin@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3649

Room 301 HSSW

drachman photo

Diane Drachman, PhD

Associate Professor

diane.drachman@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3640

Room 227 HSSW

Caitlin Elsaesser, PhD

Associate Professor

caitlin.elsaesser@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3671

Room 221 HSSW

Megan Feely

Megan Feely, PhD

Assistant Professor

megan.feely@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3625

Room 214 HSSW

Michael Fendrich

Michael Fendrich, PhD

Professor and Associate Dean for Research

michael.fendrich@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3612

Room 201 HSSW

Fisher head shot

Robert Fisher, PhD

Professor

robert.fisher@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3623

Room 212 HSSW

ann-marie-garran

Ann Marie Garran, PhD

Associate Professor

annmarie.garran@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3651

Room 326 HSSW

Gitterman head shot

Alex Gitterman, EdD

Professor

alex.gitterman@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3655

Room 312 HSSW

Scott Harding, PhD

Scott Harding, PhD

Associate Professor and Co-Director, PhD Program

scott.harding@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3628

Room 301 HSSW

Heller head shot

Nina Rovinelli Heller, PhD

Dean, Zachs Chair in Social Work and Co-Director, PhD Program

nina.heller@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3649

Room 303 HSSW

Gio Iacono, PhD

Assistant Professor

gio.iacono@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3624

Room 213 HSSW

Brenda Kurz

Brenda Kurz, PhD

Associate Professor and MSW Program Director

brenda.kurz@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3635

Room 307 HSSW

Regina Lester-Harriat

Regina Lester-Harriat, LMSW

Assistant Professor in Residence

regina.lester-harriat@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3677

Room 323 HSSW

Kathryn R. Libal, Ph.D.

Kathryn Libal, PhD

Associate Professor and Director, UConn Human Rights Institute

kathryn.libal@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3633

Room 313 HSSW

Hsiu-Ju Lin, PhD

Hsiu-Ju Lin, PhD

Associate Research Professor

hsiu-ju.lin@uconn.edu

(860) 418-6662

Margaret Lloyd Sieger, PhD

Assistant Professor

margaret.lloydsieger@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3653

Room 310 HSSW

Paula Nieman, PhD

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR IN RESIDENCE AND BSW PROGRAM DIRECTOR

paula.nieman@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3659

Room 308 HSSW

Nate Okpych

Nathanael Okpych, PhD

Assistant Professor

nathanael.okpych@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3622

Room 211 HSSW

Rupal Parekh

Rupal Parekh, PhD

Assistant Professor

rupal.parekh@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3627

Room 317 HSSW

Kathryn Parr

Associate Research Professor

Office of Early Childhood

kathryn.parr@uconn.edu

Jon Phillips, PhD

Assistant Professor

jon.phillips@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3630

Room 218 HSSW

Lisa Werkmeister Rozas

Lisa Werkmeister Rozas, PhD

Associate Professor

lisa.werkmeister_rozas@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3654

Room 311 HSSW

Louise Simmons, PhD

Professor

louise.simmons@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3641

Room 228 HSSW

Sukhmani Singh, PhD

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

sukhmani.singh@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3675

Room 321 HSSW

Tanya Smith

Tanya Rhodes Smith, MSW

Instructor in Residence and Director, Nancy A. Humphreys Institute for Political Social Work

tanya.smith@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3631

Room 219 HSSW

Ellen Smith

Ellen Smith, PhD

Associate Extension Professor

ellen.smith@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3634

Room 222 HSSW

Rebecca Thomas

Rebecca Thomas, PhD

Professor and Director, Center for International Social Work Studies

rlthomas@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3681

Room 327 HSSW

Wendy Ulaszek, PhD

Associate Research Professor

wendy.ulaszek@uconn.edu

(860) 418-6762

Cristina Wilson

Cristina Wilson, PhD

Associate Professor and Research Director, UConn Health, University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities

cristina.wilson@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3674

Room 320 HSSW

Staff

Kathy Birnie

Kathy Birnie, MSW

Program Assistant

Office of Student and Academic Services

kathy.birnie@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3603

Room 106 HSSW

Nicole Campbell

Nicole Campbell, DSW

Director of Field Education

Field Education Department

nicole.campbell@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3615

Room 304 HSSW

Kayla Cole

Kayla Cole, MA

Educational Program Assistant 2

Office of the Dean

kayla.cole@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3649

Room 305 HSSW

Tessa Cugno, BA

Administrative Services Assistant 4

Office of the Dean

tessa.cugno@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3648

Room 305 HSSW

Gina DeVivo Brassaw

Gina DeVivo Brassaw, MSW

Field Education Coordinator

gina.devivo_brassaw@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3607

Room 109 HSSW

Trisha Hawthorne-Noble

Trisha Hawthorne-Noble, MSW

Director, Office of Student and Academic Services

trisha-ann.hawthorne@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3672

Room 108 HSSW

Cheryl Jackson-Morris

Cheryl Jackson-Morris, MSW

Associate Director

Field Education Department

cheryl.jackson-morris@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3609

Room 111 HSSW

Abigail Jackson, BA

Assistant Director of Alumni Relations, Social Work & Law

ajackson@foundation.uconn.edu

(959) 200-3657

Room 314 HSSW

Liane Lussier-Smith

Liane Lussier Smith, LCSW

Field Coordinator

Field Education Department

liane.lussier-smith@uconn.edu

Milagros Marrero-Johnson, MSW

Director of Strategic Programming

Office of the Dean

milagros.marrero-johnson@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3606

Room 318 HSSW

Natalie O'Connor

Natalie O'Connor, BA

Program Assistant

Office of Student and Academic Services

natalie.o'connor@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3604

Room 106 HSSW

Bruce Parkhurst, BS

Director

Office of Finance and Administration

bruce.parkhurst@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3614

Room 204 HSSW

Carmen Ragland

Carmen Ragland

Financial Assistant I

Office of Continuing Education and Professional Development

carmen.feliciano_ragland@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3617

Room 206 HSSW

Beth Sharkey

Beth Sharkey, MSW

Associate Director

Office of Continuing Education and Professional Development

beth.sharkey@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3620

Room 208 HSSW

iris strong headshot

Iris Strong, BA

Administrative Services Specialist III

Office of Finance and Administration

iris.strong@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3619

Room 207 HSSW

Carolyn Treiss

Carolyn Treiss, MSW, JD

Director of Development

School of Social Work and Hartford Campus

ctreiss@foundation.uconn.edu

(959) 200-3658

Room 316 HSSW

Nancy Urcinas

Nancy Urcinas

Administrative Services Specialist II

Field Education Department

nancy.urcinas@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3610

Room 112 HSSW

Lindsay Wessell

Lindsay Wessell, MA

Grants & Contracts Development Officer

Office of Research & Scholarship and Finance Office

lindsay.wessell@uconn.edu

(959) 200-3621

Room 215 HSSW